Angel Without Wings

 

 

I told you once upon a day

That my heart doesn’t come cheap, you know

But you stayed here anyway

And I gave it away for free, oh

 

So now I’m taking the heat

I’ve never felt this way

Cause now I can’t find my heartbeat

Anymore since you dropped it that day

 

I tried to fly up there in the sky

I thought you’d throw me higher

But all you’ve done is make me cry

Now I’m falling, the world passing me in a blur

 

So run away, go ahead and leave, ignore the sting

You hid my joy away, destroyed my soul already

Just leave what you took behind

Give me back my wings

 

Fly, fly, fly away

Don’t rip those feathers off, don’t stay

Even though they’re broken and bent

They’re all I have today

 

I didn’t listen, didn’t hear

Never cared to look back even when I bled

Ignored what they said I’d fear

I found them on my own instead

 

I stared you in the eye

Dared you to come a little closer

And I swore I wouldn’t lie

But you never told me what you meant

 

I don’t know what I’m saying

Don’t know how I feel

I can’t breathe

I can’t feel

But I know this is right

I know I don’t want you here

So disappear

And take your blades too

 

I tried to fly up there in the sky

I thought you’d throw me higher

But all you’ve done is make me cry

Now I’m falling, the world passing me in a blur

 

So run away, go ahead and leave, ignore the sting

You hid my joy away, destroyed my soul already

Just leave what you took behind

Give me back my wings

 

Fly, fly, fly away

Don’t rip those feathers off, don’t stay

Even though they’re broken and bent

They’re all I have today

 

Fly, fly, fly away

Don’t rip those feathers off, don’t stay

Even though they’re broken and bent

They’re all I have today

 

And now nothing lies before me

Yeah, I’ve got nothing left to be

But the shattered pieces of my dreams

Because I’m the angel without wings

 

 

2 thoughts on “Angel Without Wings

Leave a Reply

