Thoughts

“Salutations.” as Charlotte would say. In this post, I’ve combined a couple of matters that have came to my attention. I might rant; I’m not sure because I’m just writing what comes to my brain.

So first of all, for anyone who celebrates Chinese or Lunar New Year, you may have gone to the market recently. I live near these Vietnamese stores and there’s one thing that bothers me every year. Every year, near the end of January, the prices of products would raise. A cake that was $28 last week would become $32. Yeah, it’s a marketing tactic; they want to gain more money and they know that superstitious people go and buy fruits a lot, so why not? (Totally random, but I just heard someone say my name and no one is showing a clue that they did, so weird.) If a typical American store, for lack of terms, was to sell something for the holidays, as soon as the holiday is over, prices that go from average may drop to sales. It’s reverse that of the Vietnamese stores I live near. In the Vietnamese stores, the price goes back to as it was before the holiday, not on sale.

I have Vietnamese relatives—it’s in my bloodlines—so I kind of understand the conditions that many immigrant Vietnamese people lived through and had to suffer. I know of cases where flooding, especially in rural places, got to knee height and the residents of the home are forced to relocate. I’ve heard of lack of food and education. Though I may never fully grasp how it must feels, having never been in that scenario, I think that people need to see that when you move to a new place, you can’t always hold true to conditions of your former home. For instance, someone who moves from rural to urban shouldn’t expect to see a cow farm or expect to climb a tree for phone reception.

Another matter I will discuss is actually quite minute: pocket sizes. First and foremost, I live in the United States of America, so the situations I talk about are for my country and my life. Moving on, females are often associated with using purses. Men don’t use bags as often as females, because society has shaped the status quo as so. Now, if you were to have a purse with you, do you need pockets? No. That’s the reason for female pants pockets. We have pockets that usually only fit our fingers, so only half of our hands. Men have overly large pockets that fill their full hands, wallets, keys, etc. That is why females tend to put their phones in their back pockets and why men rarely put phones in theirback pockets. Furthermore, some female pants would have fake pockets. What is a fake pocket? It’s when a pants looks like there are pockets and there aren’t. Why have these on pants? Well, either the manufacturer thought it looked nice or they were too cheap and didn’t think consumers needed pockets. What a way to help the purse industry.

The last topic I will discuss before I tie them all together is pessimism. Let’s be honest here. Everyone is usually pessimistic. We look at the bad things in life because they’re so easy to notice. For example, when you meet or see someone with physical disabilities, say no legs, then you feel pity for them. You only think about how they are burdened with no legs; basically, you are looking at the half-empty glass. You think about how they are lacking something, like a glass that is lacking more water. How often are you to think something positive about this person? My Spanish teacher shared a story with the class. He went to a triathlon and say two little boys. One boy had no legs (by this I mean he didn’t have legs further than his knees), while the other had all his limbs. The boy with disabilities challenged his friend to a race. Before they started, he added that he needed to change his walking legs for his running ones (you know the legs with a curve bottom to enhance running). His friend tells him that he is lucky he can change legs; the normal child envied the child with disabilities. Everyone else would pity this child with difficulties, not envy them. That’s why I rather dislike the phase “someone has it worse.” Yeah, there are people with worse situations in life, but this quote is advocating schadenfreude.

So, what is the conclusion I want you to remember, if you were to remember anything? How do we use others. Do we greed for self-profit and take advantage? Do we leave others with no choice but to be a certain way? Do we look down at others to feel better? (I’m not talking about how you act. I’m talking about how you think. I read a quote once about how you may think something at first, involuntarily, but you have the power to follow that up with a more positive and friendly thought. We all have the power of the mind.) Think about how you use others, whether physically or mentally. Decide whether it is right. Whatever your definition of right is, I do hope it isn’t selfish. 

Out of fuel,

JUTT

P.S. I hope I didn’t add too much media; I wanted to provide some relief in the mass of words.


 

Leave a Reply

